Moral Compass

What is it that drives us to do the things we do?  How can we get so off course in our lives that we rationalize and justify the absurdity of a lie or half-truth?

I took a phone call yesterday where a seasoned professional in the business world actually asked me to embellish my resume – he wanted me to change words to untruths – I finally, after about 5 minutes of conversation on the phone explaining I was not going to make up information and that my ethics and integrity would not allow such behavior – I had to say, No, I absolutely am not going to say what is not true and I don’t think your client is the kind of client I want to be associated with in the future.

After I hung up the phone I was literally dumbfounded – did that really just happen?  Do we (as a people) have a moral compass left?  Did our lack of integrity and conscience get so lost in our effort to “climb the corporate ladder” that we just forgot how to complete the most valuable of tasks?  It is simple – tell the truth?

 

About gsr080203

Wife, mother, professional.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Moral Compass

  1. Pingback: Animals Have a Moral Compass | CNT News

Leave a Reply

